Showing posts with label argh. Show all posts
Showing posts with label argh. Show all posts

Thursday, April 29, 2010

Thursday's Ten: things that have happened in the last 7 days

i've been BUSY, y'all!



1. packed and got overwhelmed by all the packing to do
2. called in the troops, and between the army and i we got the entire house packed and cleaned by 10 pm sunday night!
3. witnessed anthony's little sister hailey get baptized at church on sunday
4. was hit by a car in the wal-mart parking lot on sunday
5. said goodbye to my house with more than a few tears as we locked everything down on sunday. thankfully, at that point only anthony and his parents were there to witness that.
(and jiminy the cricket came back in from the backyard one more time.)
6. turned in my keys to the real estate agent on monday and received a check in return
7. went to dinner celebrating hailey's baptism at maggiano's on tuesday night
8. followed dinner with an er visit. i'd been short of breath all.day and between anthony and his parents was forced...ordered convinced to go see a doctor
9. was admitted to the hospital overnight (with the threat of it being more than an overnight stay). turned out to be asthma exacerbation--a flare up of a condition i thought i had grown out of at the age of 12. anthony says i gave him quite a scare--i'm sure the oxygen mask, ivs, my incredible pain at being stuck the first time they drew blood, and the fact that i still couldn't catch my breath even by the time they got me into my hospital bed didn't help in that at all.
10. was released approximately 14 hours later (noonish wednesday) and taken to anthony's mom's house until she deemed me fit to go home. she came and vacuumed all my furniture and did a little extra unpacking too when she dropped me off onto her couch. amazing woman that she is :-D

so they say bad things come in 3s. i'm thinking starting with anthony's granddaddy's illness and death, the foreclosure, and this er visit and hospital stay we're due for a run of good things.

can i get an amen?





(for those of you who are new followers from monday--thank you! i promise i'll get to each and every one of your blogs if you commented--i had internet for approximately 5 hours before i started feeling really bad)

Photobucket

Friday, April 23, 2010

exhaustion

having to be out of this house in a 10 day turn around
the first two days of which i spent working all.day.long
making it an 8 day turn around
quite plainly, sucks

don't get me wrong--i'm still so grateful for God's grace
and abundance in this situation

but it still hurts to say goodbye to this house that i cherished
painted, decorated, loved
repaired,
bought furniture to fit, cherished, planted gardens

and right now my muscles are screaming
my body aches
and i can't remember the last night i slept for more than 4-5 hours

i've had some help
more "troops" coming in tomorrow
(quite honestly i'm embarrassed by what a disaster zone the house currently is)
swallow the pride
accept the help
accept the not knowing what's in each box
because i don't have the time to lovingly, luxuriously pack each one
and others are kind enough to do it for me

right now
i really worry that i won't be done in time

but i know it'll happen
even if i take most of this crap to the dump!

prayers for my stamina, strength, and patience would be much appreciated
and mourning--i haven't mourned the loss of this place just yet and i'm not positive when i'll be able to do that.

off to bed now--perhaps i can get 5 hours of sleep tonight :0)
troops arrive at 9 am
must.be.up.

Photobucket

Friday, January 8, 2010

Keep Your Friends Close

and your frenemies closer.

Is it just a female phenomenon--the frenemy?
Do you have one?
I'm beginning to think I do.

I do know her in real life, although I don't know her well. And quite frankly I don't care to. The snippy comments she's posted on facebook and her blog make me realize that I have no interest in actually being friends with her. If they were the exception that would be one thing, but it seems that they are the norm.

I tried for a long time, I really did. Commenting on statuses and blogs and truly trying to weigh in with good stuff. On the surface it seems like we should be great friends--several things in common and I do occasionally find her funny or entertaining. But the vast majority of the time, I'm simply annoyed by her.

I find her snobbish, condescending, and alienating. And though most of the time I can't stand her...I sometimes wonder if I'm giving her a fair chance (in my head) and start to feel guilty.

And then I remember.
that I've truly tried to be a friend.
or at least friendly.
both in person and online.
and as long as I continue to be friendly... it's ok.

right?

maybe one of these days she'll come around...

(I'm sooooo not used to not being liked...and I get the distinct impression that she doesn't like me...and I think that's what bothers me more than anything!)

Photobucket